Oh, Valentine

Valentine’s Day is getting close. The calendar, chocolates on the store shelves, cards and fresh rose bouquets all announce that the special day will soon arrive.  When I was a child in elementary school, a boy in my class gave me a handmade card for Valentine’s Day.  The card was pretty, decorated with white paper lace. The other classmates chanted, “Freeda and Ed are going to wed!”  Their prediction did not happen, but I never forgot the card, the boy, or the singsong rhyme of the chant meant to tease Edward and me.

How much influence did that experience have on my becoming a poet? I wonder. The following poem was created for a Poets’ Roundtable of Arkansas competition.

Oh, Valentine

Oh, Valentine, to make you smile

on days when rain is cold and damp,

I will dress up in lace and style.

I will go down the darkest mile

to guide you like a shining lamp,

oh, Valentine, to make you smile.

I’ll write love letters all the while

until my fingers start to cramp.

I will dress up in lace and style.

Be mine, I say to reconcile

and ask if you will be my champ––

oh, Valentine, to make you smile.

To keep away the crocodile,

I’ll stand as guard beside your camp.

I will dress up in lace and style.

When I lock up my domicile,

upon my door will be this stamp:

oh, Valentine, to make you smile,

I will dress up in lace and style.

c Copyright, 2000, Freeda Baker Nichols

4 comments on “Oh, Valentine

  1. Dorothy Johnson says:

    Sweet Valentine memory. Congrats on the blog. it looks great! The piggy story got me. it was clever! DJ

    Like

  2. Dot Hatfield says:

    Hi Freeda. Love your blog — your true sentence. Thanks for the Valentine poem. I’ll be watching your space. Dot

    Like

Your comment shines like a star above Banner Mountain

